Domestic abuse in Charleston, South Carolina, is a serious crime with serious consequences. But that doesn’t mean you should be unnecessarily charged with domestic violence or have your rights contravened in the court. You need the best possible legal representation to avoid the collateral consequences that can occur when these charges are not handled with excellence, by attorneys who know the law and have worked such cases before.
We know you have questions about the charges you face, and we have compiled some answers to some of the most frequently asked ones.
Domestic violence is a criminal offense, also referred to as a crime. It is considered a personal crime because it causes physical or mental harm to another.
South Carolina lists more than 40 offenses as “violent crimes.” This includes first-degree domestic violence and domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature.
Domestic violence includes causing harm to someone in your household, or threatening or attempting to cause harm. Reasons for an arrest may include:
The degree you’re charged with depends largely on previous offenses. A first-degree charge is filed when the person has at least two previous domestic violence convictions with the past decade. Second-degree charges may occur when the person has been convicted of domestic violence once in the previous 10 years. You’ll be charged to the third degree if it’s your first offense, or your first offense in at least the past 10 years.
For a third-degree conviction, if it’s your first offense, you can be fined between $1000 and $2500, face up to 90 days of prison time or both. If you’re convicted, your right to own a firearm is also taken away.
You need an attorney who can provide you with outstanding counsel as you face domestic violence charges. Our practice has strong leadership that guides us to come up with creative legal strategies to resolve your legal problems. We explain your options clearly and thoroughly, and we work to protect your reputation as we handle your case. Call us at (843) 940-8187 today to learn more about Thurmond, Kirchner and Timbes.
Our Aiken Criminal Defense law office can be found at 210 Newberry Street NW, Aiken, SC 29801. Phone us at (803) 293-3399 to discuss with one of our defense lawyers or contact us online.
No information that you obtain from this web site is legal advice, nor is it intended to be. You should consult an attorney for individualized advice regarding your own unique situation. Please do not send any confidential information in your message as the information you provide may not be deemed confidential. Use of this website and your request for a consultation does not create an attorney-client relationship with Thurmond Kirchner & Timbes, P.A. or any of our attorneys.
Aiken | Charleston | Summerville